Codex pricing: ChatGPT Plus and Pro
What Codex costs on ChatGPT Plus and Pro: subscription prices, included models, usage limits, speed modes and buying more usage, with official sources.
Which ChatGPT plan fits for Codex?
Codex comes with ChatGPT plans. Free ($0) and Go ($8 per month) include "GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout." ChatGPT Plus is $20 per month; ChatGPT Pro is $100, $200 or $500 USD per month. Plus has a five-hour limit and Pro plans currently have none, while weekly limits may apply to both. The Pro tiers differ in included usage, which OpenAI orders Pro 500 above Pro 200 above Pro 100, and among Pro plans Ultrafast speed comes only with Pro $500. Which one fits depends on how much you use in a five-hour window and in a week, and no plan rule cited here puts that in tokens. The table below covers Plus and the three Pro tiers. OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Codex pricing plans: Plus and Pro rules
| Rule | ChatGPT Plus (Codex) | ChatGPT Pro $100 | ChatGPT Pro $200 | ChatGPT Pro $500 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price and billing | $20 per month. OpenAI pricing | $100 USD per month. "Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available." OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers | $200 USD per month. "Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available." OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers | $500 USD per month. "Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available." OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers |
| Codex access and models | Codex on the web, CLI, IDE extension and iOS. Plus lists GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna. GPT-6 Astra appears in the five-hour estimates; its plan availability is not stated in the cited text. OpenAI pricing, OpenAI models | The GPT-6.1 Sol launch rollout includes Pro. GPT-6 Astra plan availability is not stated in the cited text. OpenAI models | The GPT-6.1 Sol launch rollout includes Pro. GPT-6 Astra plan availability is not stated in the cited text. OpenAI models | The GPT-6.1 Sol launch rollout includes Pro. Pro $500 includes GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast and GPT-6.1 Sol Ultrafast. GPT-6 Astra plan availability outside that Ultrafast inclusion is not stated in the cited text. OpenAI models, About ChatGPT Pro tiers |
| Five-hour limit | OpenAI estimates local messages per five-hour period: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000. These are message estimates, not token allowances or confirmation of model access. OpenAI pricing | "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit." OpenAI pricing | "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit." OpenAI pricing | "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit." OpenAI pricing |
| Weekly limit | "Weekly limits may also apply." OpenAI pricing | "Weekly limits may also apply." OpenAI pricing | "Weekly limits may also apply." OpenAI pricing | "Weekly limits may also apply." OpenAI pricing |
| Included usage | "Power a few focused coding sessions each week." OpenAI pricing | "Pro 200 includes more usage than Pro 100." About ChatGPT Pro tiers | "Pro 200 includes more usage than Pro 100." "New subscriptions that aren't eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance." About ChatGPT Pro tiers | "Pro 500 offers the highest included usage of the three plans." About ChatGPT Pro tiers |
| Published token allowance | None listed in the cited plan rules. OpenAI publishes estimates of local messages per five-hour period for Plus. OpenAI pricing | None listed in the cited plan rules. The five-hour message estimates apply to Plus and Standard Business; Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. OpenAI pricing | None listed in the cited plan rules. The five-hour message estimates apply to Plus and Standard Business; Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. OpenAI pricing | None listed in the cited plan rules. The five-hour message estimates apply to Plus and Standard Business; Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. OpenAI pricing |
| Shared with chat | "ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage." GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat. The cited pages do not state whether ChatGPT Chat use counts against the Codex allowance. OpenAI pricing, OpenAI models | "ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage." GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat. The cited pages do not state whether ChatGPT Chat use counts against the Codex allowance. OpenAI pricing, OpenAI models | "ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage." GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat. The cited pages do not state whether ChatGPT Chat use counts against the Codex allowance. OpenAI pricing, OpenAI models | "ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage." GPT-6.1 Sol is available in Work and Codex, not Chat. The cited pages do not state whether ChatGPT Chat use counts against the Codex allowance. OpenAI pricing, OpenAI models |
| Speed modes | OpenAI's speed table lists Fast at 2.5 times Standard for included usage and 2 times Standard for purchased credits. The cited text does not confirm Plus access to Ultrafast. OpenAI pricing | For the same model, Fast uses included allowance at 2.5 times Standard and purchased credits at 2 times Standard. Ultrafast is not included in this Pro tier. OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers | For the same model, Fast uses included allowance at 2.5 times Standard and purchased credits at 2 times Standard. Ultrafast is not included in this Pro tier. OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers | For the same model, Fast uses included allowance at 2.5 times Standard and purchased credits at 2 times Standard. GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast and GPT-6.1 Sol Ultrafast use included allowance at 8 times Standard and credits at 6 times Standard; included usage is used first, then credits. Among Pro plans, Ultrafast is available only on Pro $500. OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers |
| API credits included | None listed in the cited plan features. OpenAI pricing | None listed in the cited plan features. OpenAI pricing | None listed in the cited plan features. OpenAI pricing | None listed in the cited plan features. OpenAI pricing |
| Buying more usage | Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits. "Credits support eligible usage in Codex, ChatGPT Work, ChatGPT for Word, ChatGPT for Excel and ChatGPT for PowerPoint." OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers | Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits. "Credits support eligible usage in Codex, ChatGPT Work, ChatGPT for Word, ChatGPT for Excel and ChatGPT for PowerPoint." OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers | Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits. "Credits support eligible usage in Codex, ChatGPT Work, ChatGPT for Word, ChatGPT for Excel and ChatGPT for PowerPoint." OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers | Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits. "Credits support eligible usage in Codex, ChatGPT Work, ChatGPT for Word, ChatGPT for Excel and ChatGPT for PowerPoint." OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers |
Codex usage limits and token allowances
The cited plan rules list no token allowance for Plus or Pro. OpenAI gives model-dependent estimates of local messages per five-hour period for Plus, says Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit, and says weekly limits may also apply. "Local messages and cloud chats share your plan's usage allowance." A "token limit" can also mean a model's context window, maximum response length or an API rate limit; this page covers subscription usage limits. OpenAI says, "API token prices are separate from subscription usage; don't use them to estimate included tasks." OpenAI pricing
Pro $200 grandfathering and model changes
OpenAI says, "New subscriptions that aren't eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance." For the Pro $200 grandfathering eligibility period, the allowance-change dates and the GPT-5.5 retirement, see recorded Codex plan and model changes. OpenAI pricing, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
What sharers' logs show
For what sharers' logs show, see the home page's Codex and Claude plan cards. Read how the numbers work for the method and its limits.
This site is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by OpenAI or Anthropic.